~Mama’s Meatballs~

For as long as I can remember one of my favorite dishes was Mama’s Meatballs! They were so sweet & delicious… I was always disappointed when we wouldn’t have any left for me to take in my lunch the next day… & if there were leftovers you know damn well I wasn’t going to be sharing them with any of the kids at school.

I personally have never made them without my mom. Not sure why as they are so easy!! So tonight that’s what I did… Made Mama’s Fancy Meatballs… (insert Italian accent..) Not sure who shared this recipe with her… but I hope she doesn’t mind me sharing it with you all… & I hope your lucky enough to have leftovers ’cause you will be craving them the next day!

Here We Go:

Step 1 – The Perfect Meatball

1 egg

1/2 cup evaporated milk

1 cup quick oats

1/2 cup onions, chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 1/2 lbs lean ground beef

Preheat oven to 450F. Mix All ingredients together… make into a nice sized balls… put in a baking dish (9×12 stone dish is what I used). Place in oven for 15 minutes.

Step 2 – Fancy Sauce

1 cup Ketchup

1/2 cup brown sugar (calls for 3/4 cup but I only put in a 1/2)

1/4 cup onions, chopped

1/4 tsp garlic powder

While the meatballs are baking, pour all ingredients for the sauce together in a saucepan. Bring to a boil. Take off heat.

Once the perfect meatballs & fancy sauce are done, pour the sauce over the meatballs. Bake covered for another 10-12 minutes. Or until the meatballs are no longer pink in the middle. Big balls will take a little longer… small balls will take a little less time… 😉

& There you have it!! Mama’s Fancy Meatballs!

I served it with white rice, cooked carrots (I mixed just a touch of butter, onion powder & parsley in them..delicious) & I was too lazy to make  salad so I just cut up some tomatoes & cucumbers.

Here is my finished product… Sorry I am no Food Photographer! I promise it looked way more professional in person.. 😉

Mama's Meatballs
Mama’s Meatballs

Hope you enjoy them as much as our family did & still does!!

-WRG

One thought on “~Mama’s Meatballs~

What Do You Think..!?!?

